Good News

comment 1
Adoption / Foster Care / General Musings

There are so many posts I’ve been planning to write, and just haven’t found the time or motivation. But today we got good news, and I had to share. E’s lawyer called to tell us that the judge terminated the rights of E’s biological parents. This is a HUGE step toward finalizing his adoption. We’re not out of the woods yet, though. Both parents still have 30 days to appeal the decision. I hope they don’t, or that they decide to sign the open adoption agreement instead. I hope they realize what the judge did, that E being adopted is in his best interests. I hope they listen to E, who has made it crystal clear that this is HIS wish and desire. In the meantime, this is a big weight off our shoulders, and I’m so glad the decision was made as quickly as it was.

I’m happy, but I’m also a little sad. I doubt his dad is really very upset (since he didn’t even show up for the trial), but I’m sure his mom is devastated. She loves him. She wanted him back. She wanted another chance to parent him. She will think the judge made the wrong decision. She may think she must appeal so E doesn’t think she gave up on him. I’m sure she’ll cry when she hears the news, in a very different way than I cried when I heard. I’m happy for us, relieved for E, sure that this is right for him. But I’m still praying for her in her grief.

The Author

I'm a pastor. I believe in radical love and ridiculous grace. I love to sing and sew, and have a shop on Etsy. I'm trying to make my ecological footprint smaller. I have chickens who provide endless entertainment. Oh, and I'm a formerly single mom by choice, son E (born 6/00, placed 11/23/11, adoption finalized 11/21/14) and now making a life with The Dude and his two kids, Girl-E (12/02) and C (9/04). Baby Bumpy due to arrive around 5/25/15! This blog chronicles my thoughts on faith, family, and the wild adventure we call Life!

1 Comment

  1. Wow, my process was so different here in the UK. But one thing certainly remains the same, parenting older traumatised children as a single person is tough and amazing all at once.
    I read back through some of your blog and look forward to the next leg of the journey. I hope it goes smoothly.

    Thanks for linking up with the Single adopters Network hosted on my site. http://mumdrah.co.uk/category/single-adopters-network/ Mx

    Like

Leave a comment